If you already have a degree from an accredited institution and are seeking a law enforcement career, consider becoming a police cadet. As a Police Cadet you will attend the MPD Academy. Cadets go through a program of law enforcement skills training which includes theory and hands on training. To be a Peace Officer in Minnesota you must be licensed. Licensure involves completing POST approved training and passing the Minnesota Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) test. The MPD Academy training is POST approved.
Starting pay is $18.49 per hour for a cadet. You are paid while attending the Academy and your training is also paid for. Upon earning a Peace Officer license you will be promoted to the rank of Police Officer earning $26.20 per hour.
Questions? Contact Sgt. David Burbank 612-673-5583
For more information about becoming a peace officer in Minnesota, please visit Minnesota Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST)
Last updated Jul. 1, 2013