Governor Walz announced Executive Order 20-14: Suspending Evictions and Writs of Recovery During the COVID-19 Peacetime Emergency on March 23, 2020 to prevent evictions during the coronavirus outbreak. The suspension went into effect at 5 p.m. on March 24, 2020.
Resources and Legal Help
Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid provides legal advice to low-income Minneapolis renters. Information and resources for all Minneapolis renters is available here:
- Legal Aid’s COVID-19 page with legal information and resources
- Legal-Aid’s housing-specific information and advice. This includes information about the Governor’s executive order to suspend evictions and lease terminations. This webpage is updated daily as new information is available.
- Individual tenants can also call Legal Aid to get information about their specific situation. Legal Aid provides free legal services for income qualifying renters: 612-334-5970.
HOME Line provides free and confidential legal advice to all Minneapolis renters. Individual tenant questions can be directed to HOME Line:
- HOME Line's tenant hotline, free & confidential legal advice: 612-728-5767 or email your question to HOME Line housing attorneys.
- HOME Line ofrece servicios en español. Para Español, llame al 612-255-8870.
- HOME Line waxay bixisaa adeeg ku baxa Afka-Soomaaliga. Af- Soomaali wac 612-255-8860.
- Peb lub koom haum HOME Line muaj neeg txhais lus Hmoob. Hais lus Hmoob, Hu 612-255-7104.
Frequently Asked Questions about Suspension of Evictions
More information is available on Minnesota Housing’s COVID-19 webpage, including a summary of Executive Order 20-14 and the full Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document.
What does the order do?
- The order keeps tenants and foreclosed homeowners in their homes during the state of emergency, except in limited circumstances.
When did the order go into effect?
- The suspension went into effect at 5 p.m. on March 24, 2020. It remains in effect until the declared peacetime state of emergency ends.
Does the tenant still owe rent during the moratorium?
- Yes. We strongly encourage renters to: (1) Let your landlord know early if you cannot make rent. (2) Pay what you can so you don’t get further behind on rent.
Does the homeowner still have to make their mortgage payment?
- Yes. The order asks financial institutions to postpone foreclosure and not to impose late fees. If they choose to, financial institutions can still start foreclosure proceedings, but, during the public health emergency, cannot evict the people living in the home.
Does the household need to demonstrate a loss of income or COVID-19 diagnosis?
- No. This order does not require a COVID-19 diagnosis or demonstrated loss of income.
Are all types of evictions or lease terminations exempt from filing under this suspension?
- No. Evictions or terminations may proceed in cases where the tenant seriously endangers the safety of other residents or for violation of 504B.171 subd. 1. (certain unlawful activities on the property). Property owners/lenders are encouraged to seek legal counsel with questions about specific situations.
What happens if a landlord/lender violates the order?
- If they willfully violate the suspension of evictions, they would be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction may be punished by a fine not to exceed $1,000 or by imprisonment for up to 90 days. The Attorney General’s office may also enforce the order using any of the remedies under Minn. Stat. 8.31. See legal resources.
Last updated Mar 31, 2020