Permits to Carry Handguns
The Hennepin County Sheriff's Office is responsible for issuing all permits to carry to residents of Hennepin County. More information on the Minnesota Personal Protection Act (Conceal and Carry) may be obtained at the following Hennepin County and State of Minnesota websites:
Permits to Purchase Handguns:
Where to apply for permit to purchase:
Applicants for permits to purchase handguns must apply in person to the police department in the city in which they live and present a valid Minnesota driver's license or identification card with their current address. If there is no police department, they must apply to the sheriff's office in the county in which they reside.
Minneapolis residents may apply for a permit to purchase (not carry) in Minneapolis City Hall, 350 South 5 th Street, Room 1, Minneapolis, MN 55415.
Public service hours are:
Monday through Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday 10:00 AM- 4:00 PM
- Information and application forms may be obtained by following this link to the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Firearms information page.
The following restrictions apply to the possession of firearms, to transferee permits, and reports of transfer for handguns and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons. Individuals with restrictions shall not be entitled to possess a pistol or any other firearm. The legal basis for the restrictions may be found in federal law (18 United States Code § 922) or Minnesota law (Minnesota Statutes, §§ 253B.02, 624.712, 624.713. 624.7131 or 624.714.)
• Must be 21 years old to purchase a handgun or handgun ammunition from a federally licensed dealer.
• Must be 18 years old to purchase a semi-automatic assault rifle.
• Must not have been convicted, adjudicated delinquent or convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile of a crime of violence in Minnesota or elsewhere unless civil rights have been restored and during that time you have not been convicted of any other crime of violence.
NOTE: This lifetime prohibition on possessing, receiving, shipping, or transporting firearms for persons convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a crime of violence applies only to offenders who are discharged from sentence or court supervision for a crime of violence on or after August 1, 1993.
• Must not have been charged with a crime of violence or placed in a pretrial diversion program by the court before disposition until you have completed the diversion program and the charge of committing the crime of violence has been dismissed.
• Must not have been convicted of fifth-degree assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes. §609.224 or assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes, §609.2242 either in Minnesota or elsewhere since August 1, 1992.
• Must not have been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 United States Code section 922(g)(9). Federal law prohibits the possession of a firearm for anyone convicted in any court of a qualified misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
• Must not be subject to a court order that (1) was issued after a hearing of which you had actual notice and at which you had an opportunity to participate; (2) restrains you from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner, a child of an intimate partner, or your own child, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in a reasonable fear of bodily injury to that person or a child; and (3) includes a finding that you represent a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner or child or by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury.
• Must not be an unlawful user of any controlled substance as defined in Chapter 152 of Minnesota Statutes.
• Must not be a person who is or has ever been committed by a judicial determination for treatment for the habitual use of a controlled substance as defined in Minnesota Statutes, §§ 152.01 and 152.02, unless the person's ability to possess a firearm has been restored under Minnesota Statutes, §624.713, subdivision 4 and must not have been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor violation of Chapter152 of Minnesota Statute, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and during that time the person has not been convicted of any other such violation of Chapter 152 of Minnesota Statutes or a similar law of another state.
• Must not have been committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as chemically dependent unless you have completed treatment or your civil rights to possess a firearm have been restored.
• Must not have been judicially committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as "mentally ill," "developmentally disabled” or “mentally defective," or "mentally ill and dangerous to the public."
• Must not be a peace officer who has been informally admitted to a treatment facility for chemical dependency unless you possess a certificate from the head of the treatment facility discharging or provisionally discharging you from that facility.
• Must not have been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than a year (other than offenses pertaining to antitrust violations, unfair trade practices, restraints of trade, or similar offenses relating to the regulation of business practices) unless your civil rights have been restored or the conviction has been pardoned, expunged, or set aside.
• Must not be a fugitive from justice as a result of having fled from any state to avoid prosecution for a crime or to avoid giving testimony in any criminal proceeding.
• Must not be an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.
• Must not have been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions.
• Must not have renounced your United States citizenship.
• Must not have been convicted of a gross misdemeanor level crime committed for the benefit of a gang (§609.229); assault motivated by bias (§609.2231, subd. 4); false imprisonment (§609.255); neglect or endangerment of a child (§609.378); burglary in 4th degree (§609.582 subd. 4); setting a spring gun (§609.665); riot (§609.71) or harassment and stalking (§609.749), unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and during that time, you have not been convicted of any other violation of these sections. (All references are to Minnesota Statutes.)
• Must not be under a qualified domestic abuse restraining order as defined in 18 United States Code section 922 (g)(8) or (9) as amended through March 1, 2014
For additional information about permits to purchase
Call the License Investigation Unit at 612- 673-3002 or e-mail us at [email protected].
Last updated Sep 28, 2018