Mayor and City Council inauguration Jan. 6

Mayor Betsy Hodges and all 13 City Council members will be sworn in at an inauguration ceremony at City Hall on Jan. 6. Following the ceremony, the Minneapolis City Council will hold its organizational meeting to select council leaders and determine committee assignments.

The Inauguration ceremony will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the City Hall rotunda (350 S. Fifth St.), and the City Council organizational meeting will begin at about 11:30 a.m. in the Council Chamber, room 317 of City Hall.

State Senator D. Scott Dibble will serve as the Master of Ceremonies for the inauguration. The invocation will be offered by Rabbi Michael Adam Latz of the Shir Tikvah Congregation and the benediction will be offered by Rev. Dr. Alfred Babington Johnson. The oath of office will be administered to Mayor Hodges and City Council members by City Clerk Casey Joe Carl, after which Mayor Hodges will deliver her inaugural address.

The 2014 Inaugural Ceremony will be broadcast live on Minneapolis cable channel 79 and will be webcast through the City’s website at The ceremony will be rebroadcast on Minneapolis 79 at on Jan. 6 at 8 p.m., as well as throughout the month of January (daily at 7 a.m.; Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays at noon; Saturdays and Sundays at 8 p.m.)

NOTE: Mayor Hodges will be sworn in at an event on Jan. 2, the day the City Charter requires the new mayor to take office. The event on Jan. 6 is the traditional inauguration ceremony at City Hall for the new mayor and council members. This is the event where Mayor Hodges will deliver her formal inaugural speech.


Published Jan 2, 2014