Mayor's Office

350 S. 5th St., Room 331
Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone: (612) 673-2100

Image for RSS Subscribe to the Mayor's RSS
RSS allows you to get the latest news from the Mayor's office. Learn more about RSS.

Cradle to K Cabinet Members

Mayor Hodges’ Cradle to K Cabinet includes a range of experts, community leaders, scholars, educators, and parents.

Carolyn Smallwood, CEO of Way to Grow, Mikkel Beckmen, Housing Coordinator for Hennepin County, and Donna Zimmerman, Senior Vice President for Government and Community Relations for Health Partners lead the work of the cabinet as co-chairs.



Carolyn Smallwood, Co-Chair

CEO of Way to Grow

Donna Zimmerman, Co-Chair

Senior Vice President of Government and Community Relations, HealthPartners

Mikkel Beckmen, Co-Chair

Housing Coordinator, Hennepin County

Melvin Carter

Director, Office of Early Learning at the Minnesota Department of Education

Victor Cedeño      

Director of Networks and Education Policy, Generation Next

Pamela Gigi Chawla, M.D.

Senior Medical Director of Primary Care Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota

Sarah Clyne

Executive Director, Domestic Abuse Project

Ann DeGroot

Executive Director of the Minneapolis Youth Coordinating Board

Kelly Monson

Acting Executive Director, Minnesota Children's Cabinet

Andre Dukes

Family Academy Director, Northside Achievement Zone

Frank Forsberg

Senior Vice President, Systems Change & Innovation, Greater Twin Cities United Way

Jonathan May

Managing Director and Director of Data and Research, Generation Next

Sharon Henry-Blythe

Director, Visible Child Initiative at the Family Housing Fund

Steven Knutson

Executive Director and CEO of Neighborhood Health Source Clinic

Denise Mayotte

Executive Director of The Sheltering Arms Foundation; Member of Start Early Funders Group

Scott McConnell

Professor, Education Psychology, University of Minnesota

Gretchen Musicant

Commissioner, Minneapolis Health Department

Art Rolnick

Senior Fellow and Co-Director of Human Capital Research Collaborative, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota

Maureen Seiwert

Executive Director, Early Childhood Education, Minneapolis Public Schools

Aaron Sojourner

Associate Professor, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota  

Barbara Yates

President and CEO, Think Small

Deby Ziesmer

Community Member

Dianne Haulcy

Senior Vice President for Family Engagement, Think Small

Dr. Helen Kim

Director, Hennepin County Medical Center Mother Baby Program

Nuria P. Rivera-Vandermyde

Deputy City Coordinator, City of Minneapolis

Last updated Oct 10, 2017



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 


311 call center

TTY relay service


facebook25x25 twitter25x25 youtube25x25 Minneapolis311icon logo tv 14 footer icon image linkedin_32x32